Daily Reflection: Being your own critic…

Daily Reflection: Being your own critic…

“Life is too short to waste any amount of time on wondering what other people think about you. In the first place, if they had better things going on in their lives, they wouldn’t have the time to sit around and talk about you. What’s important to me is not others’ opinions of me, but what’s important to me is my opinion of myself.”

― C. JoyBell C.

For years, I was affected by how people think of me and I was under the impression that… for me to belong, I have to be someone I think others would like even if it’s not necessarily “ME”. The realization of not caring what others think about me came not too long ago when I decided to just do my own thing and feel good about it – not being sorry for who I was and who I am now. It set me free and it made me happy. A person becomes stronger when he/she believes in himself/herself. My fear of rejection lessened and I became more open to meeting new people and I also started to take on new challenges. Not asking for validation from others is also a key to freeing yourself from any anxiety that hinders you from growing. The most important and harshest critic in my life right now is “myself” and staying true to myself.. well… really helped me a lot in rediscovering “JAZEE” – all the strengths, weaknesses and flaws that I was ignoring for the longest time. I am continuously CHANGING and IMPROVING. I am loving the NEW ME and I am so thankful that in the process of finding myself, people who are true to me are always there to support and love me for who I am… no matter what – my family, friends and nffs! 🙂

Bebejaz loves Jazee

Leave a Reply

